top of page
Search

Earth Day at Home - 2020

Hello, listeners, welcome to my new blog, Sienna Styles. I'm your host, 12 year old Sienna Salcedo. And this all set since we're celebrating Earth Day this week safe at home. What's a better way to kick it off than starting a blog to inspire people to be more aware about the clothes they choose and inform them about how we can be kind to our planet when considering our fashions.


Did you know that the fashion industry is responsible for the emission of one thousand seven hundred fifteen million tons of CO2?


And in case don't know what CO2 is,


(I didn't know either) It is pretty much the amount of gas they use, usually five point four percent of the thirty two point one billion tons of global carbon emission was from the fashion industry. Don't get me wrong, I love the fashion industry and I'm planning to become a fashion designer myself.


But we have to do something to make a change with the help of you. Yes, you, my friend.


I will be begin by giving tips on how you can personally reduce your fashion and environmental impact. Step number one, buy less. Step number two, even though clothes may be cheaper elsewhere, try to buy clothes from brands that are thoughtful of the environmental and social impact. Step three buy good quality clothes so you can keep your clothes longer and don't need to buy more. Adding to the waste step or instead of throwing clothes away. Consider donating them, repairing them, using them to make something new or recycling them into a textile bin.


There are many other ways to help out, like post on social media about what a big problem this is and how to fix it. Tag me @ecofashionfrenzywithSienna. All lowercase is all one word on Instagram. Do you have a pair of jeans that you don't wear anymore and are too short for you? Don't throw them away.


Upcycling them into purses, shorts, earrings and much, much more old cotton t shirts are great to upset. Go into purses and facemasks. What you could donate to local nurses in your homes and others in need, just like I did.


Keep in mind that in this pandemic there is many first responders and doctors who are dealing with patients diagnosed and don't even have a mask. This is extremely dangerous for themselves. So to prevent the spread of covid, donate masks, take a picture of you making the masks and tag me on Instagram.


I'll say my name one more time so you won't forget @ecofashionfrenzywithsienna - All one word, all lower cases on Instagram. Thank you so much for listening to Episode one of Eco Fashion Frenzy for Kids.


Stay tuned for more posts coming soon!!

Until next time,

Sienna Salcedo



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page